Receiving workers’ compensation benefits can be a real lifesaver when being unable to work following a workplace injury. The problem with workers’ compensation insurance is that benefits are available only for those with a qualifying work injury, and that they only last for a specific amount of time. Workers who are seriously injured and may be disabled permanently must still consider what will happen to them in the long run when workers’ compensation benefits expire, which they will assuredly do. Luckily for injured workers in North Carolina, workers’ compensation law has a significant time frame in which injured claimants may receive financial benefits as well as medical coverage.
The first wage replacement payments will begin after an injured claimant has been unable to work for seven consecutive shifts. Benefits are retroactive to the day of the injury. Once benefits begin, the clock begins to count down with respect to how long you may receive benefits if remaining unable to work. The payment schedule duration differs based on the type of injury and whether or not a worker may be able to return to work in a reduced pay capacity.
Maximum Benefit Compensation
The general maximum limit for receiving workers compensation benefits is 500 weeks for most claimants, but the duration can be shortened based on the type of injury class and the actual extent or seriousness of the injury.
Claimants who are unable to serve in any capacity but will be able to return to work eventually are classified as temporary disabled. Once approved for the particular injury, these injured workers are paid in accordance with their specific wage at the time the injury occurred. Those who may return to work but are unable to perform their prior job responsibilities may be placed on other jobs in some situations. If the new position pays less, they can receive compensation for the difference through workers compensation insurance, but it often takes representation from a worker compensation attorney to enforce this rule.
Permanent disability cases are handled differently from a temporary injury case. The maximum limits will be potentially obtainable, but workers compensation insurance companies commonly make a lump sum offer that will be less than the total payout would be over time. It is not necessary for the worker to be totally unable to work either. As an example, loss of an eye or limb can justify a permanent disability claim. Insurance compensation law has set injury time schedules for a loss of use at:
- Thumb 60 weeks
- Eye 100 weeks
- Hand 150 weeks
- Leg 175 weeks
Contact Our Worker Compensation Attorney Office
Regardless of the severity of a workplace injury, workers compensation insurance companies and employers will attempt to reduce total payments as well as deny benefits in many cases. This happens even when they know they are liable for compensating injured workers. Additionally, an employer may also be sued for negligence when there is proven evidence of similar past behavior or failure to maintain a reasonably safe work environment. Anyone experiencing difficulties in their workers compensation claim should contact our office for a full case evaluation.
Call Kellum Law Firm today on 1-800-ACCIDENT to schedule a no cost and no obligation case review with one of our experienced Workers’ Comp Attorneys. We’re here 24/7 to take your call and have multiple office locations around North Carolina for your convenience.
“We’re With You All The Way”
Other resources for worker’s comp and workplace injury claims in North Carolina include:
- Can I Work Part-time And Receive SS Disability Benefits?
- Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia – What Are The Standards for Eligibility For SSD Benefits?
- SSDI Denials Vs Approvals – Which are Most Common?
- Construction Accidents In North Carolina